55. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll (1865)

This is the first book I can remember reading all the way through on my own, having first encountered it in a shortened version at primary school. My Dad had a large green hardback edition of the Complete Works of Lewis Carroll, and as soon as I was big enough to reach it down from the shelf I was deeply absorbed in that book. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, therefore, represents the starting point of my reading adventures – and from the moment I fell down that rabbit hole I’ve been happily wandering around the fictional universe. Children’s literature remains an important bedrock for me, as you’ll see. I love Through the Looking Glass as well, of course, and at one point I could recite The Hunting of the Snark by heart, but the dreamworld of Wonderland remains, for me, the key work. (And while I’m on, can I just say ‘no’ to any illustrations other than those by Tenniel? Thanks.)

 

2 Comments

Filed under My top 100 novels

2 responses to “55. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll (1865)

  1. David Benedict

    Oh yes! Ceaselessly great. Hard to think of another book so well-read, well-loved and of such seismic influence. And have you read Martin Gardner’s “The Annotated Alice”? It’s a goldmine of background info and near-lunacy. Ever wanted to be able to recite Jabberwocky auf Deutsch? Enquire within.

  2. Klverkloggs montrell

    I too wondered about “The Annotated Alice” – I’ve neevr played chess and couldn’t comprehend the emotional story until I came across the imprtance of all the chess moves – and then loved it ” . . . .

Leave a Reply

