40. Winnie-the-Pooh, A.A. Milne (1926)

Not much explanation needed for this one. There can’t be many readers – can there? – who haven’t been touched by the Pooh books. They’re so intricately tied up with my memories of childhood that I find it impossible to be objective about them. In memory, I seem to be constantly reading either Winnie-the-Pooh or The House at Pooh Corner, or When We Were Very Young, or Now We Are Six. I’ve chosen Winnie-the-Pooh because it contains most of my favourite episodes – the bees, getting stuck in Rabbit’s hole, the Heffalump, Eeyore’s birthday – but I love the sequel just as much. The E.H. Shepard illustrations are masterpieces in their own right. I even love the Disney movie and I think the soundtrack LP was the first album I ever owned.

1 Comment

Filed under My top 100 novels

One response to “40. Winnie-the-Pooh, A.A. Milne (1926)

  1. Love this one too. In a way it’s very sweet and innocent but in another way there’s something subversive about it too, with a sarcastic elephant. All the characters are so fully fleshed out for a kids book with their own very distinct personalities. I remember a final question on the TV show Jeopardy, “This character is the only female in the entire Winne the Pooh series”.

Leave a Reply

