25. The Man of Property, John Galsworthy (1906)

I can’t have the entire Forsyte Saga as one choice, can I, so I’ll settle for the first of the three major novels because it’s got the really meaty stuff about uptight-but-sexy Soames Forsyte, his beautiful-but-irritating wife Irene and her disastrous affair with the architect, Bosinney. I thought for years that the Forsyte Saga would be really stuffy and dull, but in fact the narrative rattles along with that warm, confidential style I love so much (see also Trollope, Thackeray) and the subject matter (greed, lust, mental illness, rape) is pretty raunchy. When I reluctantly tackled it in my 30s as ‘one of those books I really should have read’, I was instantly hooked and read the whole lot more or less in one go. Galsworthy is a perfect example of those writers who were totally overlooked when I was a student in favour of the more consciously ‘modern’ stuff like Woolf and James, but who I think has a far more enduring appeal.

1 Comment

Filed under My top 100 novels

One response to “25. The Man of Property, John Galsworthy (1906)

  1. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

